On my mind

I have been doing so much thinking lately that it’s driving me crazy. I discuss it a lot with my family, friends and of course Emily. I just can’t help but wonder if I went wrong with my choice of schooling and the direction of my career. I am working on my associates degree in Graphic Design currently (I should’ve been done nearly two years ago, but only go part time), and to be honest I am not sure if that’s the degree I want.

I think my big concern is how will I provide for myself and my family someday. I obviously do my freelance photography right now and work full time as a designer. I don’t know if I’ll be able to support myself with my freelance someday and that’s just always been the plan. I worry that I should’ve gotten into college for something that will be more beneficial for me someday.

I guess I am just ranting, but do you of you guys ever feel this way?

Aaron

    • Bryan
    • January 12th, 2010

    Man, this is the exact dillema I was in. I wanted to freelance forever. I ended up just sucking it up and going with my initial plan, which was nursing. As a nurse i’ll only work 3 days a week so I will be open the other 4 for shoots/design. I’m sure you can find something stable that will leave you open enough to do what you love as well. Everything will fall into place eventually, mane.

  1. Yeah dude,
    right now I’m only 17, so obviously I’m not going to have a family anytime soon, but right now I make a small amount of money doing photography on the side, and I’m hoping to go to university for photography next year and hopefully turn it into a full-time job, if everything goes according to plan

    I guess photography and graphic design are similar in the sense that they’re sort of fluctual jobs, where one day you could be getting a ton of business and making a decent amount of money, then the next week suddenly all your business is dried up and you’re sitting there, twiddling your thumbs and getting poor.

    I’d like stability some day, so I don’t think photography is the right field for that unless shit really goes your way. But it’s something that I really love, so I guess I might as well try.

    Luckily, the photography course I’m applying for will give me a bachelor of fine arts, and there are a bunch of classes in that course that can train you to be an art director or a bunch of other jobs that being a photographer could eventually lead to, that might have a stable income

    • Jasonptice
    • January 12th, 2010

    It’s not just you man. I’m in school for a Computer Science degree concentrated on network security and I have these thoughts constantly. Being 23 and still a year from my associates and 3 from my BA scares me. I’m just gonna roll with it and hope for the best. I oftm hate that I didn’t start school as SOON as o left high school, but I stupidly thought my degree in autobody repair coulda skated me through life.

  2. i’m in the same pickle… working in an Ad agency as a graphic designer but as far as i see it, this is my other job. i feel like i would die if i’ll just give in to that gray same old repetitive job
    and i’m constantly doing something creative (by my standards) for bands, models, whatever…
    still, not making enough to focus only on that with all the necessary gear (we don’t have alien bees here sadly, though if i’d make real money i’d go with profoto of course… ) and studio space and all and all….

    still, i won’t let my self give up and from watching what you do, you shouldn’t give up on that also… it’s not like you’re mediocre enough to let that go.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

